Invictus

“Out of the night that covers me,

Black as the pit from pole to pole,

I thank whatever gods may be

For my unconquerable soul.” – William Ernest Henley.

Eight weeks. Sunday, August 24, 2014. It seems like an eternity. Halfway through a sixteen week marathon training program of interval runs, distance runs, medium long runs, tempo runs, planned racing, simulated racing, and long runs, I take little comfort in the words of Mr. Henley – “I am the master of my fate, I am the captain of my soul”. I am exhausted.

This week: 50 to 70 miles.

Monday – Rest Day – 0 to 3 miles.

Tuesday – Interval – 8 to 11 miles total. 3 to 4 x 1,600 m at 10k pace 3 minutes recovery.

Wednesday – Distance – 7 to 10 miles.

Thursday – Medium long run – 10 to 13 miles.

Friday – Rest Day – 0 to 3 miles.

Saturday – Distance- 7 to 10 miles.

Sunday – Long Distance – 20 to 23 miles, easy steady pace.

Eight weeks. Sunday, October 19, 2014. The Morgenpost Dresden Marathon will be here in no time. Visualize, I tell myself as I head out for another run at 6:00 a.m. Visualize the wonders of Dresden. Visualize the crowds of adoring fans cheering me on to the finish line, and a life of fame and fortune. I must persevere and continue training; if I don’t, I know what it’s like to hit the wall. I can do this. After all, the marathon is only 42.195 kilometers!

 

1 thought on “Invictus

Leave a comment